Share this content on Facebook!
08 Sep 2017
Our cell phones have turned into a virtual human electronic label that, rather than being installed under our skin, is in our pockets and purses. Exact locations, dates, times, and what we did before and after opening an application or site are just the beginning of what is being tracked.

The design of the device enables this to happen whether we want it or not. Your mobile provider, for instance, always knows where you’re at on their system, because your smartphone is checking for the strongest cell tower in every seven seconds.


With turning off all the location tracking systems on your phone wouldn’t be of some great help, but you can to some degree control what gets to be shared or stored.  

Customized services

Both Apple and Android will uphold their capacity to provide their clients with personalized services by permitting your phone to always track your location. For instance, it can identify what it’s the time of day you usually leave for work and automatically estimate how much time you drive and the best route on the traffic conditions at that moment.

Apple’s frequent location information is only stored on the iPhone, while Google stores your location history both on your Android smartphone and in your Google account. Generally, somebody would have to gain access to your mobile phone or to your Google account to see your detailed location history.  

Keeping location information in perspective

To be honest, if someone gains access to your mobile phone or Google account, your location history should be the minimum of your worries. Your email account and its contents are more important to a cyber criminal than your location information.

If you worry your partner or parent can see every place to you have been, then that’s a totally different situation. Whatever your reasons are for not wanting somebody your location data tracking and storing, don't worry, because it’s simple to turn it off.

 

iPhone frequent locations setting

Most iPhone users are familiar with the “Location Services” options in the Settings menu (Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services) that enables you to manually control which applications have to access to your location services.

If you scroll down to the bottom of the listing of your applications, you will see an option for “System Services.” Tap it and take a look at the bottom of the following screen of options to tap on “Frequent Locations.” You will now see a toggle to turn on or off frequent locations, also the current history stored on your smartphone with a choice to clear it if want to erase the information.

Google location history setting

Android users should modify setting on both your phone and in your Google account. Android devices have somewhat different settings menus depending upon your device, so look for (or search for) “Google Location History,” usually under a privacy or location submenu. When you toggle is switched off, it simply stops storing your locations, however, it does not erase your history.

You can also delete all the previous location history from Google’s server by visiting this page and clicking the ‘Delete all history’ link from the left pane.



Comments

There isn't any comment in this page yet!

Do you want to be the first commenter?


New Comment

Full Name:
E-Mail Address:
Your website (if exists):
Your Comment:
Security code: